So it is done. Announcing for the first time…Godspeed!

So, I finally did it. After six long years of rereading and editing and honestly not doing a lot, Godspeed has finally hit the shelves of Amazon’s Kindle. Check it out here! I’m as scared to death as I am excited, and overall, it’s exhausting on a personal level. After I update all of my links and stuff with the fact my book is actually online, I think I’m going to take a day off. Maybe buy some donuts from Dunkin Donuts to celebrate. Or, some super chocolate ice cream. Yea…both of those sound like a good thing.

However, it’s curious to note that, in all the advice I’ve read, no one has posted on the subtle nuances of self publishing on Kindle. I had no idea what to expect, but I eventually stumbled through it. The process is easy, and since we’re all helping each other, let me tell you what to expect when publishing a book, if you’re like me, doing it for the first time.

Honestly, it’s a pretty straight forward concept. Amazon takes you to a page where you fill in basic information of your book. Title, name of the series it belongs to, if applicable, along as the book’s volume number. Only numerical numbers allowed here, even though I like the words “Book One” better than “Book 1” but I’m not gonna argue. Then, you’ll verify you have publishing rights by clicking the box.

Now, the next part is important. It’s your categories and keywords. You get two categories and seven key words, so choose well. You can always come back and change them, though. In fact, the only thing you can’t change is release date for your book. Next, upload your book cover and finally, your book itself. I use a website called Draft 2 Digital to create my .mobi. Or is it the other one? Anyway, this website is actually a website that will sell your book for you on a ton of places. But you don’t have to use that service to format your book. In fact, they welcome people to just use the book formatter, so that’s what I did. You can download and preview your book across lots of platforms too.

Next, we get to the fun part. Royalties. All you really have to do is set your price and pick a royalty percentage. Based on your price, you’ll either qualify for 35% or 70%. Books priced 2.99 and over qualify for 70% royalties. That’s the price I went with. I didn’t go higher, because I haven’t hired a professional editor, but when I do, I’ll bump up the price to 3.99. You can select 35% if you want, but I think Amazon has plenty of money. Then, set where you have the rights to sell your book. I think I have the right to sell my book all over the planet, so that’s what I did. You can also enroll in KDP select, which is what I did. For 90 days, you have to give Amazon exclusive access to your book. In exchange, you have several promotional tools available, which I’ll be utilizing in the coming days and weeks. You can also get a share of a pool of money based off of how many people are in Kindle Unlimited. If they borrow your book, you get a small percentage. If I understand stand how it works right. I haven’t actually studied it that much, but it sounds like there’s 3 million in the pool, and you’ll get a buck or two if someone reads your book.

After that, just submit. It took my book about seven hours to hit the shelves. I got the email at 2:14 am. At this point, you can click on your book and check it out. You can also create your author bio page, which I had a lot of fun doing. Too bad I can’t find that old hard drive with all my good pictures of myself in it.

And I already have my first sale. Like I said, it’s simple. But i couldn’t find an exact overview of the process, so I decided to write a little about it here. In the coming weeks and months, I’ll be trying a myriad of promotional idea thingies…I suddenly forgot the word I was going to say. And hopefully, some of them will work.

Until then, I guess that’s it. I’m finally a published writer. And thus begins my journey. But I don’t just want to be a published writer. I want success. I want to make enough money to bring my wife home, so we can work on writing and drawing all day. I want orders of magnitude of success greater than what we have now. Let’s see if I can do it in a reasonable amount of time.

🙂

Leave a Reply

