Amazon and E3 2015. Some major announcements!

All right! Over the past few days, I’ve been privy to some major announcements that I’m really excited for. So let’s get right down to it. I’ll start with the most important, as it affects what a writer gets paid when enrolled in Kindle Unlimited, and as Homer Simpson so aptly put it money is important because, “Money can be exchanged for goods and services.” The change is only for people in KU, but it’s ramifications may be felt in the industry for a while.

I am, of course, talking about the change in pay for writers in KU. KU is a program where readers can borrow books to read for free and when read a certain percentage through, the author of said story gets a tiny share of a pool of money. At least, those were the old rules. Oh, writers still get a share of money, which looks like to be around 11 million dollars, but now instead of getting paid if a reader reads 10 percent of a book, it looks like this new model proposes to pay the writer by the amount of pages a reader reads.

Speaking for me personally, this is awesome. Godspeed is in KU right now, and is somewhere around 230 pages. If a person borrows the book and reads the whole thing, I’ll get paid a little over $2.30. That’s more than I’d get paid if they outright bought the book. So, all you people that want to support what I do can read the book for free and I’ll get paid a few more pennies. That’s win/win for everyone in my book.

Well, not everyone. A lot of people make their money writing short stories and novellas. If a person borrows a 60 page book and reads it, it’s only 60 cents versus $1.35 of the past, which is going to eat into people’s income. And it’s still not clear what the pay out per page will really be. However, we’re a resilient bunch and I’m sure we’ll compensate somehow. I still feel really bad about the shorter story writers, but this does deal with the problem of publishing a 9 page book on KU full of click-bait terms and as soon as a person looks at the thing, they get paid 1.35. Now, writers get paid on content, and content that keeps pages turning. While still important, keywords and search terms are only going to get a book so far in KU. It’s going to be the story that keeps people turning pages. So, go out there and turn some pages in the coming weeks for your favorite authors. They’ll appreciate it.

And now I come to the part I’m most excited about. Sure, a little money is nice, but it’s not like we authors have a choice in the matter, even if pay were being lowered. But this year’s E3 is shaping up to be one of the best. It’s been a long time since E3 has been worth my time. However, with bombshells like the HD remake of Final Fantasy 7 being announced, I had to take note.

FF7 is probably the game I’ve spent the most time playing in my lifetime. I did absolutely every single thing possible in that game. I could beat the hardest bosses by starting the battle and then putting the controller down, that’s how powerful my characters were. And ever since the tech demo released to show off the PS3 way back when, I’ve wanted a remake. Well, it seems like Sony is actually trying to sell PS4s now, because I’m on board. This is Hyrule Warriors level of game we’re talking about. Actually, even higher than Hyrule Warriors, as the HD FF7 remake has just sold me a PS4. If I can’t get it before, my income tax refund will purchase me one. It’s a done deal. No compromises. I’m getting a PS4 now for the same reason I bought the PS One. Becuase of Final Fantasy 7.

But let’s not forget stuff like Star Wars Battlefront 3, which looks super cool, despite being all scripted gameplay, and the newest Fallout, Fallout 4. I wasn’t excited about FO4 until I learned that you can build and manage your own settlement. Those familiar with mods will have probably heard of one of the most popular ones for Fallout 3 and Fallout NV, which was Wasteland Settlers. While really buggy, it let people do just that. Build and customize their own settlement. And it was a blast. Honestly, Bethesta games like Fallout and The Elder Scrolls have always been a big sandbox for me. The only Bethesda game I ever beat the main storyline on was Morrowind way back in the day. Ever since, I’ve always just goofed off on games like Oblivion, Skyrim and the Fallout series. And I intend to do just that on Fallout 4.

There are a lot of other games that look cool too, but I probably won’t pick up. But FF7 remake is tops and is possibly my most anticipated game of all time, for all years to come. No, there is no “is possibly” here. It is my most anticipated game ever. Even if its being developed my Square-Enix and not Squaresoft, I’m still buying it. I can’t wait to breed chocobos and slaughter Emerald Weapon like I used to when I was in middle school. I can’t wait to spend hundreds of hours grinding materia to build the most OP materia system of all. And I can’t wait to get the Omnislash limit break, Cloud’s most powerful limit break, on the first disk(they probably won’t be divided by disks, but this is earlier than reasonably possible) and let Jenova: Synthesis really have it for that whole…well. Spoilers. But she deserved that butt kicking, trust me 🙂

Leave a Reply

