How I Write

I’ve seen this floating around for a few days and figured I’d give it a try. If for no other reason than to give people an idea how one more writer does what he does.

Anyone interested, feel free to tag yourselves and answer the questions! Do leave a link to your post in the comments!

1. What are you writing?

The last book to my Godspeed series. Followed shortly by the beginning of a Y/A Urban Fantasy that I’m real excited for.

2. How does your work differ from others of its genre?

People tell me that there’s a certain honesty to what I write. Maybe genuine is a better word. Compared to other Adventure/Dystopian works, things and events are more believable and vastly more human.

3. Why do you write what you do?

I have no idea, save that I think writing with adult characters is boring.

4. How does your writing process work?

1. I set up my Word 2003 document to exact specifications, including borders, tabs, fonts ect.

2. I put my title in or use a place holder, centered, then double space and make a place for Mental Notes

3. I start writing. No outline. Just an idea, usually about a beginning and where a story could end.

4. If I need to go back to make any changes, I list them under the Mental Notes section. I only go back to change very, very urgent or problematic issues with my story. Otherwise, I finish the first draft before ever going back to edit.

5. Once I’m done, the draft sits while I busy myself with something different for at least a week. After that, I read what I’ve written and go down my check list, adding more mental notes where appropriate. Repeat this process at least three times, depending on overall shape of the draft.

6. After I feel it’s ready, I pass it to my wife, who ensures that the invincible feeling I have at writing another masterpiece is kept in check.

7. Finally, it’s off to a few select others to read. Then, the final clean up and one final read on whatever medium I’m going to publish on. Right now, it’s Kindle.

5. Do you have any artistic pursuits besides writing?

I wish. I’d love to be able to draw like my wife, but artistically speaking, writing is all I’ve got.

6. What literary character is like you?

I have no idea. Thankfully, Google came to the rescue and I took one of those silly quizzes on Facebook. Ended up getting Aslan from the Narnia series of books. Pretty good, but not too accurate. Another quiz gave me Jo March from Little Women. Apparently I’m some type of leader or something.  Since it was fun, I took one more quiz and got Jean Louise Finch from To Kill A Mockingbird. I think I’ll go with this one, as I’m still really naive and hopelessly idealistic.

Wait. Finch? MockingBIRD? I just now got that….

Mind=Blown

In my defense, I know a few people with the last name Finch, so it didn’t strike me.

🙂

Leave a Reply

